Zhushikou Protestant Church
Zhushikou, meaning Pearl Market entrance, dates from the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) when it was known as Pig Market. When the market closed in the Qing period (1644-1911) the name changed, but the pronunciation didn't. Pigs and pearls are homonyms; the written characters differentiate them.
Construction and expansion of the three-story Methodist denomination edifice took place several times over a 17-year-period between 1904 and 1921. It was one of the first multiple storey buildings in south Beijing.
One of the unique features of the small church is that during religious services the congregation worships on three different floors simultaneously, linked together by an in-house video system.