Yellow Crane Tower
Built in 223 during the Three Kingdoms Period (220-280), the Yellow Crane Tower was originally a watchtower by the King of Wu Kingdom. By the Tang Dynasty (618-907), the tower's defensive function had obviously diminished. It tower was pulled down and rebuilt time after time. The present structure was started in October 1981, and completed in June 1985. The one before that was built in 1868 during the reign of the Qing Emperor Tongzhi but destroyed in 1884 during the reign of Emperor Guangxu.
The tower today is an "enlarged copy" of the 1868 version, built with modern technology to emulate the old wooden structure. It boasts 72 mighty columns, 60 upswept corners, a roof of yellow glazed tiles, and five levels of upswept eaves. The 51 m-high structure has five visible levels when viewed from outside, but nine inside. In addition, there are many wall paintings, inscribed couplets and historical relics around the building. From the tower visitors can overlook the Yangtze River and the three towns of Wuhan.